What is it? Featuring around 5000 journals, ABI/INFORM Complete™ is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers nearly 3,900 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
What is it?A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
What is it? Drawing on the collections of distinguished museums around
the world, the content of Art Museum Image Gallery is rights-cleared for use in educational settings, so they can be employed
liberally in class lectures, assignments, academic presentations, and password-protected course websites. Essential for programs
in art history, studio art, and design, these images offer a wealth of art and information to enrich learning in
cultural studies, area studies, women’s studies, archaeology, history, religion, social studies, literature, and theater
department and community theater research on set design, period costumes, and period furniture.
What is it? ARTstor is a digital library of images, their associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship. The ARTstor Digital Library contains approximately
300,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods, including images of architecture, painting, prints, drawings,
sculpture, decorative arts, design, and archeological and anthropological objects.
What is it? This publication's detailed indexing helps you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so you have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
What is it? Biographies and obituaries,
and more than 26,000 photographs of notable people. Drawn from more than 100 volumes
of reference works, contains 95,000 biographies. Part of EBSCOhost family
of databases.
What is it? This database provides you with access to esteemed Black newspapers from across the U.S. Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989-present and is cross-searchable with all of the newspaper collections on the ProQuest platform.
What is it? Book Index with Reviews (BIR) helps you find information on the books you want and need to read.
What is it? Articles on companies,
products, markets, industries, economics, and management disciplines. Provides
extensive profiles of companies. Part of the Infotrac family of databases.
What is it? Fully integrated resource
bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports,
company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Part of the Infotrac family of
databases.
What is it? Offering flexible, fast access to a multitude of outstanding magazines and scholarly journals, EBSCO Business Full Text is the ideal resource for library patrons conducting research or simply reading in any area of business. With this outstanding and comprehensive database, library patrons enjoy access to feature articles, product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews, and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences, and more.
What is it? Offers full text for over 2,000 business publications. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? Database providing
indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Contains
more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Part of the EBSCOhost family
of databases.
What is it? An essential companion to Art Museum Image Gallery and a key
resource in its own right, this unique database features an unparalleled range of pictures, posters, video clips, and
other material from the world of film and television from the late 19th century to the present day.
What is it? Regularly updated systematic
reviews of the effects of health care. Data often are combined statistically (with
meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each
too small to produce reliable results individually. Highly structured and systematic.
Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? Collection of detailed
reports offering unbiased analysis on controversial social and political issues:
abortion, global warming, etc. Part of the CQ Press family of databases.
What is it? A completely customizable
general reference database for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers
every major subject from the world's best Publishers of Reference.
What is it? Articles from over
300 newspapers, both national and international. Part of the Infotrac family of
databases.
What is it? Abstracts of published
systematic reviews on the effects of health care with crticial analysis. Database
provides access to reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet
exist. Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? Family of databases
offering wide range of articles in the fields of business, education, literature,
medicine, nursing, psychology, and current events. EBSCOhost
requires that you first select the databases you wish to use prior to performing
your search.
What is it? Developed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers, while still containing much of interest to the regular reader, Education Full Text is a complete source of education scholarship. The database encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, updated daily on EBSCOhost Web. Its full-text articles with page images combine with clear abstracts and precise indexing to ensure greater coverage than any competing resource.
What is it? ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
What is it? Documents and journal
articles related to educational theory or practice from over 1,000 journals. Sponsored
by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains the ERIC Thesaurus of educational
terms. Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
Why use it? Find education-related
abstracts and articles.
Full-Text? Selected Full-Text
Availability? St. Francis College (On & Off Campus)
What is it? Multi-disciplinary database covering both scholarly academic and general interest periodicals. Part of the Infotrac
family of databases.
Why use it? Search for peer-reviewed
articles in a wide variety of fields.
What is it? Easy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
What is it? With electronic reference books from Gale researchers can instantly access thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject. These authoritative reference works are available 24/7 through Gale's Virtual Reference Library platform.
What is it? This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
What is it? The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
What is it?Range of publications
in the fields of information science, technology, and management.
What is it? Collection of databases.
Allows for simultaneous searching of different databases.
What is it? Extended explorations of major topics in the area of Communications Studies.
Includes coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, geographical areas, and more.
What is it? Articles from core
scholarly journals spanning the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences.
Historical collection covering complete run of each journal from its inception
to 1-5 years ago.
What is it? Full-text access to
to over 300 newspapers and journals from U.S. and around the world; a full range of credible business resources, including business and financial news, US and international company financial information; primary and secondary
source materials for legal research, such as case law, stastics and regulations, legal news and law reviews.
What is it? Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content,
the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods
writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. The journal titles in these series include:
Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Drama for Students, Literature from 1400 to 1800,
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature of Developing Nations for Students, Literature and Its Times, Novels for Students,
Poetry Criticism, Poetry for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, Shakespeare for Students, Short Story Criticism, Short Stories for Students,
and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. In addition, users can access current, full-text critical essays on major authors via the Literature Resource Center's link to more than 260 prominent literary journals.
What is it?Designed specifically
for high school students. Articles from more than 700 popular general interest
and current events publications. Also provides pamphlets, reference books, biographies,
and more. Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? Abstracts and articles
pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Full-text for nearly
300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? Bibliography of over
7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency,
circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Part of the EBSCOhost
family of databases.
What is it? Index to scholarly
literature for language, literature, linguistics and related areas. Published
by the Modern Language Association. MLA indexes articles, book chapters, working
papers and proceedings. Part of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it?Database collection
of newspapers including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times,
Barron's, Wall Street Journal, and dozens of others.
What is it? Comprehensive collection
of classical music available online. Includes over 85,000 tracks, including classical
music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Reasonably good quality.
Why use it? Listen to classical
and world music online.
Full-Text? Selected Full-Text
Availability? St. Francis College (On & Off Campus)
What is it?Full-text of articles
from ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New
York Times and the New York Post. Part of the
Infotrac family of databases.
What is it? Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
What is it? This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
What is it?Full-text access to
2,100 journals, many peer-reviewed. A broad database. Part of the EBSCOhost Web family
of databases.
What is it? Premier full-text resource covering today’s
hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control.
What is it?A Comprehensive, Integrated Nursing & Allied Health Portal for Practice, Education, Research, and Administration.
In addition to Nursing@Ovid, students will be searching three other library nursing databases by default: CINAHL, Science Direct and PubMed. It's a premium cross-platform solution specifically designed to meet the needs of the nursing students at SFC.
What is it? The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language
over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words,
both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English
language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
What is it? In Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions,
and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all
20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Oxford Reference Online is an expanding, regularly updated resource.
What is it? Articles from nearly
550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Also contains more than 200 educational reports. Part of the EBSCOhost family
of databases.
What is it? Full-text, peer-reviewed articles to a comprehensive selection of humanities and social
science journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide.
The journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 489 titles representing 132 publishers.
What is it? Article abstracts and
full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and major English language
newspapers. Covers a wide range of scholarly topics.
What is it? Full-text and peer-reviewed
articles in field of psychology. Contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals.
Producaed by the APA. Coverage 1985 to present. Part of the EBSCOhost family of
databases.
What is it? An electronic serial of book reviews
featuring full text reviews of current scholarly and professional books in psychology, as well as reviews
of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective.Coverage 1995 to present. Part of the EBSCOhost family of
databases.
What is it? Index of journal articles,
book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology.
Journal coverage 1887 to present. 97% of covered material peer-reviewed. Part
of the EBSCOhost family of databases.
What is it? This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
What is it? PubMed is a free database accessing the MEDLINE database of
citations, abstracts and some full text articles on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library
of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) maintains PubMed.
What is it? The index that revolutionized the world of research, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, is a better, more powerful, and convenient way to access the ultimate in current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons.
What is it? Full-text coverage
for regional business publications including 75 business journals, newspapers
and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the US.
What is it? ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
What is it? Full-text electronic
access to over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
Covers disciplines in the physical sciences, life sciences, and health sciences.
What is it? Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
What is it? This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text. Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
What is it? Searchable full-text
of 600 indvidual titles in the Twayne Literary Masters book series. Coverage includes
U.S., English, and world authors. Part of the Infotrac family of databases.
Why use it? Reference information
about authors and descriptions of their works.
Full-Text? Full-Text
Availability? St. Francis College (On & Off Campus)
What is it? This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.